How Radio Will Survive!

Opinions, comments, critiques, and what you hear is going on – post it, share it!
djhitman2

How Radio Will Survive!

Post by djhitman2 » Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:22 pm

So you ask how can radio survive? Well I will tell you. I work as a radio jock for the US Army in Germany. I work for AFN Heidelberg which serves Heidelberg, Mannheim and Stuttgart. When I took over the morning show I asked people do you listen to the show and what would you change. Many said they don't and the reason was we don't talk about Stuttgart. You see its an hour away from the station and so many DJ's didn't really care about it. So when I took over I got Stuttgart more involved with the show. When I did Stuttgart listenership grew by 500,000. So I have learned that local means listeners. I can get in my 2010 Mustang and I can just hit a button and pull up my favorite artist. I don't need radio. But then again there is traffic, weather and whats going on. I feel what is going to take radio into the future is local, local, local! I want to hear whats going on in my town ever week, not what is going on in LA or New York. When a Radio Jock tells a story about a local business or club I can relate. I don't care whats going on at Scores in New York (aka Howard Stern) I want to know whats going on at my local club. I am telling you people local is what is going to keep radio strong not national. Companies need to realize give the people what they want local radio! If you do it the listeners will come!

tstone

Re: How Radio Will Survive!

Post by tstone » Sat Oct 15, 2011 11:13 am

Brother, too right. Live, local, intimate, immediate, the things that radio can do in combo unlike any other medium. These are how radio will regain and stay relevant. The captains of industry who believed these things were no longer important are the ones who almost drove radio to cultural irrelevancy.